Host suggestion

hi I’m new to STORJ and decided to host a node myself.
I’m currently using an unused PC with a 8TB drive on it.
I have a two options :

1. run linux and use docker to run Storjnode, the the pc will be dedicated to storj only.
  2. install Truenas Scale and run Storjnode as a docker app, so I can also use this machine as NAS.

what’s your suggestion or opinion in turn of performance and easy of installation/maintenance , any downside to install over Truenas? or do you have any other suggestion on the setup?

Thank you

OpenMediaVault - no problems :slight_smile: and as a NAS and as a docker host

If you only have one 8TB disk there and don’t plan to expand later, and don’t need NAS – then go with whatever is easier and more familiar to you.

If you want to also have a nas for other uses, plan to add more drives, have a pool for redundancy, more RAM for caching, etc, and then share extra space to storj – I would go with TrueNAS. There is a lot of debate on merits of hosting storj storage on a redundant array vs 1 disk per one node, you can find the discussion threads on this forum. For me it wasn’t really a choice – I already had a pool and array. Storj was an afterthought simply because I ended up with extra 10TB I don’t seem to be using. So the decision would depend on whether this contraption is NAS first and foremost or purely storj node.

As a side note - with TrueNAS I would go with Core 12, not Scale; and run the node inside a fresh jail, simply because it’s more stable, and I’m personally more familiar with FreeBSD compared to Linux. I had to write a bunch of scripts to simplify installing the node on TrueNAS, and added a simple shell script to replace the stock updater which does not know how to restart the service on freebsd, and it “just works” for a few months now, very hands-off and rock solid. (In a hindsight I perhaps should have create a STORJ plugin for TrueNAS … but I haven’t. )

1 Like