How do I access my gateway credentials

Hi,

In brief: How do I obtain my gateway credentials? I did not copy them locally, as I thought I could get them again using my encryption phrase.

I need the Access Key, Secret Key and Endpoint values.

I am using Storj to backup my Synology NAS, and it is working fine. Just trying to simulate an emergency restore, and it seems i need these values.

I tried the CLI tool and it’s asking for an API key, and not sure what this is.

Sorry, I am new to this, and it’s a bit confusing.

Thank you,
Alex

I just tried to create another Access Grant to test a restore of my files, and it did not work. Got an authorization error.

In the meantime, I am backing up my files again to my bucket, but this time, I copied the Access and Secret key.

Is it possible that I can only access the files I backed up to Storj using the access/secret key that was used to save it there.

1 Like

To obtain S3 credentials, you will need to register the access grant you got in the UI or generate using satellite address + API key + encryption passphrase. The latter is the most secure way but requires an additional step. Here’s how to do this: Create Access Grant in CLI | Storj Docs. Of course, you can also use access grant you can get in the UI: Create an Access Grant | Storj Docs.

Having the access grant, you need to register it. You can follow these steps, but you can also register it using uplink CLI (see uplink help access register).

In the backup tool, I also recommend bumping S3 Multipart Threshold and Chunksize to something like 63MiB. This will help you achieve optimal performance.

2 Likes