VPN setup issues

HI I just realized I set up a VPN and the string template I used from the setup instructions contained a segment with the IP assigned by my IP plus :28967. I recently set up a VPN and I can just select a dropdown menu to change the IP to another part of the world and wonder if this impacts the setup commands? as I change the IP via the VPN do I also need to continually change that IP in the setup command string?

Here is the string template docker run -d --restart unless-stopped -p 28967:28967 -p 127.0.0.1:14002:14002 -e WALLET=“0xXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX” -e EMAIL="user@example.com" -e ADDRESS=“domain.ddns.net:28967” -e BANDWIDTH=“20TB” -e STORAGE=“2TB” --mount type=bind,source="",destination=/app/identity --mount type=bind,source="",destination=/app/config --name storagenode storjlabs/storagenode:beta

If you provide an explanation please keep in mind I’m not a techie but have put a lot of time into figuring out how to make this thing work on my home system and it does or did work until I realized I’m using a VPN and maybe it actually isn’t working

Hello @wizardofwhere,
Welcome to the forum!
Not all VPN allows a port forwarding. If you used the one with this feature, then you should change the left part of the port mapping -p vpnport:28967
The DDNS domain should be updated with the DUC automatically, but it should be running on the host with the docker and VPN client.

1 Like

Thanks for the help. I input the info into the string and when I tried to run it in CMD window I got this response: docker: invalid publish opts format (should be name=value but got ‘vpnport:28967’).

Of course you need to substitute “vpnport” with the port number.

But may I ask what you’re trying to achieve by tunneling everything through a VPN? Why adding more overhead to your connection and making it most likely slower?