Advice on using Storj in dApp

Hey all, new to Storj. I spent some time going through the docs, but I could use some help in figuring out some high-level concepts.

My goal is to build a web application that lets users upload, manage, and share assets (images, videos, text, etc).

Are these the correct steps to take:

1. Generate an API Key
  2. Create a bucket for each user
  3. Generate an Access Grant for each user, letting each user specify their own passphrase and associating only their bucket with the grant
  4. Users use their Access Grant to manage objects in their bucket

Now presumably, each user has full access to their own bucket (read, write, delete, etc). As an admin, I do not have access to their buckets (except I can delete the entire bucket if I wanted to). Is this correct?

Some questions I have:

1. If my Storj account were to be deleted, all user data would be lost, right? Is there a way for users to still have access to their data, regardless of whether or not it’s through my application?
  2. What’s the best way to manage and use user Access Grants? Should they be stored like oAuth credentials in my backend?

Hello @abc123456678,
Welcome to the forum!

Yes, you are correct. You can even use a single bucket, but different prefixes for each user, this will allow you to have an unlimited number of users: your paid account will have a limit of 100 buckets by default (see Understanding Storj Usage Limits - Storj Docs). Of course, you may increase it with a support request, however, if you would use the single bucket, then you would not be forced to request more.

There are several ways:

1. Pay your bills in time
  2. Do not delete user’s data
  3. Allow users to use their own access grants or S3 creds from their Storj DCS/Storj OSP accounts

There are several ways

1. Do not store the access grants and generate them client-side with provided user’s encryption phrase (like we do in the satellite UI).