Backup storage node

I have been a node operator in storj for a couple of days. I have the following questions:

-How to backup the node storage?

• How to restore the backup in case of having to replace the hdd by break?

At the moment you cannot backup, because if you restore an old snapshot you will be disqualified very soon since from the satellite’s perspective you lost storage pieces.

1 Like

At the moment it is impossible. I have created a suggestion for this though.

A backup of the stored data is not useful, because the data store is dynamically changing every few minutes. Each node’s reputation is based on auditing of the current data…

A backup data store will be missing any new data, as well as have extraneous data that was already deleted. The missing new data will cause a node restored from backup to become disqualified rather rapidly.

So, there will never be a method of backing up a Storj node data store. Such concepts do not apply to the nodes.

2 Likes

the data on the storagenode is erasure coded data (basically live data/math constantly being recomputed by the satellites to be sure storj don’t loose data when nodes fail or exit / disconnect) and due to this any backup is difficult at best and currently the only existing way to provide redundancy for your storagenode data in case of harddisk failure is raid or similar solution.

raid involves using like something like 5 disks with 1 redundant which is generally viewed at being unsafe, but ofc it would be better than no redundancy, however you would ofc sacrifice 20% of the capacity. where if you put one node on each drive you would be able to run 5 nodes instead of one big one 4/5th the size…

so in the end it comes down to a lot of practical aspects of how your system is and what you plan to expand into.

This does not make any sense and if true the network is very poorly developed.

It would be wise to try understanding how the network works before making such conclusions.