Building a new system

about to put together my first computer to put on the system. I am building from scratch and I am doing this for fun. I do love the idea of getting STOJ coin. I am a total newb here so forgive me. Is there a way to test the hash rates of the connections? I have a few locations and I could use and there are a few terms I am not used to and cannot find alot of info on such as egress bandwidth and audit bandwith

Also does it matter if the drives used are RAID drives or just get the lowest cost available to purchase? I was thinking about setting up a PI system linked to some external drives.

1 Like

Hello and welcome!

Your internet connection doesn’t need to be top notch for Storj, but it should at least support a 5mbps upload throughput.

Then, using a RPi (preferably 4B, but it works on RPis 3 too) is usually a good option as it’s very power efficient.

Setting a raid is generally not recommended as it’s more profitable to run one node per disk. Also this way if a disk fail, you wouldn’t lose your whole and only node, you would only lose the node attached to the failing disk.
(some may disagree - it is what StorjLabs recommend though ^^)

To clarify some terms you used:

• Egress: data coming out of a node, also known as “download” from customers point of view.
  • Ingress: data going to a node, also known as “upload” from customers point of view.
  • Audits: very small requests made by sattelites to check a node is still actually storing the files it is supposed to. There is not really notion of “bandwidth” linked to audits as they are very light to a node’s connection.

Here is a google sheet you might want to copy to your own account to fill in your numbers: it estimates what behavior to expect with regards to egress/ingress with time. Check it out:

1 Like