Cannot create a bucket

All I get in response to the ‘mb’ command is: Error: api key format error: invalid api key format

Make sure you copied the whole key with no trailing or leading spaces.

1 Like

I assumed everything was OK during the setup phase as I got the following: Your Uplink CLI is configured and ready to use!

You can try to check it

uplink access inspect

It should print out the satellite, API key and Encryption Access hash
Compare the API key there with copied API key, they should match. If you do not have a copy of API key, then you can create a new one and try to configure again.

Thanks Alexey,
I downloaded uplink again and set it up with a new API … same result. If I try to get help on Uplink commands eg. Mb, I get ‘command not found’ I am an amateur using Terminal though I have been using Macs for > 25 years.

Have you downloaded it via command line?

curl -L https://github.com/storj/storj/releases/latest/download/uplink_darwin_amd64.zip -o uplink_darwin_amd64.zip
unzip -o uplink_darwin_amd64.zip
chmod 755 uplink
sudo mv uplink /usr/local/bin/uplink

It’s possible the the uplink executable wasn’t moved to /usr/local/bin/uplink

Yes, I have downloaded it via the command line and yes the executable is in the right place. Thanks for the help.

The problem is a bug with uplink CLI’s config handling. If the “access” name chosen/set includes an uppercase letter, it will instead try to interpret this as a serialized access string to parse.

When running uplink setup, be sure to use an all lowercase access name when prompted. Alternatively, you can just leave the prompt blank and press return to accept default.

If you’d like to see what’s happening, you can view and edit the configuration file. On macOS, this is located at /Users/<your_username>/Library/Application Support/Storj/Uplink/config.yaml.