Delegate Traffic based on node type

Hi all,

I’m new here so forgive me if this is not a new suggestion but thought I would throw it out there.
Quick background, Developer by trade with a bit of operations thrown in.

No doubt, we have a lot of different people and nodes connected. From hobbyists running a node on their laptop, to Homelab types and many in between. This effects what hardware and network each user has. Some with 500GB’s and an DSL/Cable connection. Some with 70TB’s and a gigabit+ connection with again, a large mixture of hardware and network capabilities. Some people have a limited broadband pipe with sub 20mbit but a lot of storage and would do well hosting data that doesn’t require regular Egress, while others can provide high bandwidth, low latency data retrieval.

As a developer, I use AWS S3 for high availability, but at the expense of higher storage costs. If I need cheap bulk storage, Backblaze B2. The key difference between the two is performance and cost. S3 is great for performance, B2 for cold storage. I would recommend, if you want to really get the interest of Devs/Ops types, the ability to choose between storage nodes and bandwidth nodes would be great.

Nodes with low bandwidth would charge less for storage but when egress is required, charge more. Such as restoring from backup. While high bandwidth nodes charge more for storage, less for egress, but they make up the cost due to receiving high priority traffic.

Implementing such a system would make Tardigrade more viable for customer facing systems while also keeping the idea of cheap distributed storage alive. Give the customers what they need while tailoring the backend to support the wide range of infrastructure available.

4 Likes

Hey @Cyber-Hoarder welcome and thank you for such a thoughtful first post :slight_smile:

tagging @brandon our product manager to hop into the discussion!

1 Like