Disk fragmentation is inevitable... Do we need to prepare?

What about defragmentation for SN…
A defragmentation tool in the background, without much load on the array, would facilitate faster read/write access.

Why? My personal opinion is that…
On conventional HDD and even RAID will be strong fragmentation, during the operation of the node, files are erased and written (after the introduction of the cleaner), large volumes of disks and over time, read / write will take more and more time for HDD mechanics.

As an option, it can be Diskeeper in automatic mode (THIS is not an ADVERTISEMENT)

Who that thinks on this about ?

p.s. I’m a newbie, and gathered my node on my knee with Windows and 1TB HDD
I plan to further expand the volume through RAID6

Have you seen the number of files that a node holds for 1TB! I am pretty sure node’s db has indexes to locate the correct piece and retrieve it for processing. De-fragmentation would put unnecessary load on CPU. Storj is meant to be used even on RPi 3.

Maybe I don’t understand indexes ? correct, but I will say as I understand.
If there is an index, it is fast for the database to find the file, there are no problems and the database knows where the file lies, but it must not only be found but also read and send, and given the fact that the file is fragmented, HDD mechanics need to do extra work, and this in turn slows down the response

Conventional defragmentation tools, Yes, create a large load on the disk subsystem at the moment. That’s why I wrote that we need a background tool that does not take on much and does not aggravate the situation with fragmentation.

According to the reviews of the above Defragmenter, I realized that their customers are very happy with how the response values of their systems on highly loaded servers have improved.