Enterprise SNO Members

Forgive me if this has already been answered but has Storj/Tardigrade considered working with Enterprise SNOs who can offer storage space in a datacenter environment with cooling, redundant power and redundant internet? You could certify the SNO to ensure they meet the industry standards and they can have a greater benefit, such as less withholding of Storj coins or higher payout to cover expenses.

Just food for thought.

I know the idea is to be decentralized, and that can still be achieved by having multiple SNOs in multiple datacenters.

I think they made the /24 IP limit specifically to discourage people running nodes in datacenters.

1 Like

@Pentium100 I’m new to this /24 limit. Are you saying the IP has to be in a subnet smaller than /24?

If you could share a link, I’m looking for reference.

1 Like

If there are multiple nodes in the same /24 subnet, they are treated as a one big node for storing data. Basically, if you have 10 nodes in the same subnet, each will get 10% of the traffic that a single node on the subnet would get.
https://storj.io/blog/2019/06/ip-filtering-keeps-data-distributed/

Ok, so by this logic, if I have a /20 public IP subnet, it will only treat it as if I have 16 hosts instead of 50? I don’t think that’s so bad though.

Right now, yes. Each /24 subnet gets you the traffic of one node, no matter how many nodes are in that subnet.
The difference between one big one and multiple nodes in the same subnet is that multiple nodes would get vetted slower (though you could start one node, wait until it’s vetted and then start the second one) and if one node gets disqualified, then you only lose the held amount for that node.

I have a large number of TB of unused space on my SANs and was looking to get some not profitability, but just get money back for it. What size LUNs would you recommend per node? I’ve started one with 9TB and it’s taken almost 2 months to get 1TB filled (only at 827GB).