Faster delete performance

I did some poking around. Delete starts off here:

And ends up here:

The threshold is .75, so I think it is waiting until it deletes 75% of the pieces then lets garbage collection get the rest. This is like long-tail cancellation for deletes - I think.

I’m not a Go programmer, but it appears that pieces are deleted while the client is still waiting for a response. My suggestion would be to run deleteObjectPieces in a background thread / goroutine. It might be as easy as adding “go” in front of that call and returning an empty list for deletedObjects. That would probably make all deleted objects be in the “pending” state for a short while (I guess that’s what pending means - not all pieces have been deleted yet). I just tried overwriting a pending object and it worked fine, so doesn’t seem like that would be an issue.

Or, instead of starting a background thread immediately, use a fixed-size pool of workers to handle all piece deletes. This wouldn’t be like garbage collection which happens every week, and it’s not like the current piece delete queuing and jobs (I think) because the client is waiting while those are happening.

I read a post that customers haven’t complained about delete performance. That could be true; they might just leave. My view on performance is that it’s important because it’s easily measured by prospective customers, whereas things like durability, availability, and wide distribution are a lot harder to verify. If a company says “we have x performance, y durability, z availability” and the customer sees much different performance, it might cast doubt on the other things.

1 Like

I did fast deletion like this:

64 processes did the trick. The faster would be only to remove a whole bucket with uplink rb --force

What happen if the session with modified uplink would gone? The simplest way to reproduce - use ssh without screen. What happen in that case?