Files availability (newbie question)

For sake of argument, let’s say I upload an image that someone at the STORJ team doesn’t like (aka censorship working hard haha). Would anyone at STORJ be able to delete that file?

Second question: let’s assume that, for some reason, the STORJ team decides to completely abandon the project, therefore the domains are deleted. As much as my files are stored in other nodes around the world, would it be possible for me to “compile” those files and have access to my files again?
If not, doesn’t the word “decentralized” become a bit misleading, since we always have to go through a centralized entity (in this case, STORJ’s website) in order to operate?

Hope it makes sense and someone can help me understand these questions? I am totally new to blockchain and all that, so sorry for the super basic questions.

1 Like

I’m sure the StorjLabs Team will respond to this soon, but i’ll briefly give you some answers.

as with most things, if you use it for private storage and nobody knows, it’s not a problem.
if you share it then there are rules…

yes specific data or accounts can be deleted.

not totally sure how accurately, it could be deleted…
doubt they could target a specific image, but maybe…
in worst case i think they would have to suspend or delete your account…

Storj DCS uses satellites and storagenodes.
currently only storagenodes are run by the community and the community satellites are in very early development stages, the first one was just launched recently.

the network can be accessed through these satellites directly and is all open source.
so very soon there will be nobody to pull the plug… not even sure storjlabs could now if they wanted to since all the source code exists and the network is live.

basically the website is just for easy access for people that are interested or in need of storage.

Storj DCS is more of a backbone product, of which many other developers can build their own products on.