Further Russian law changes around international data movement

I wonder what the Storj implications are here.

1 Like

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we have shared this with our legal team and will be closely following this news to take the appropriate measures as required once this law goes into effect.

3 Likes

I think as a node operators we do not transfer any data that can be considered as personal as it is defined by law. Last time I had some insight into topic of personal data in Russia (discussion with audit company), it starts to be considered “personal” as soon as one combines, lets say, phone number, with name of person, but if it is just phone number separately it is not a subject to any restrictions. Means that even if some data on nodes is collected, it is ok as long as it is not assotiated with specific person.

This is my opinion and I’m not a lawyer. I think the problem comes about in two areas:

1. Any Russian clients who utilise storj could be required to Geolocate Russian data or be breaking the law.
  2. If overseas clients use a Russian node and then download their own data (and move it outside Russia) are they breaking Russian law?
    Just my 2 roubles worth.
1 Like

Regarding point 2, I wouldn’t give 2 f*cks about Russian law as I don’t live there…

1 Like

This is similar to GDPR or analogues.
As far as I understand, not any Russian clients are subject of this law, only those ones who stores personal information of Russian citizens must comply to this law.
If overseas clients (or Russian clients) stores personal information of Russian citizens, they must store this data in Russia. So, if they uses Storj DCS to store such information, they must comply to this law too, this is mean that they should request a geofencing feature enabled for buckets with that information.

2 Likes