How Exactly Does Storj Work with Plex

Hey all, I’m a novice coder (watch me butcher jargon) trying to build a Storj backend to my Plex Media Server/Library. I mean, is Storj the “server” in this case? I’ve been using the Storj Docs with some success. But the docs didn’t answer my main question: will Storj allow remote access to my Plex Library even when my host computer is off?

Additional Details: I use an iOS app called Prologue which serves as a (beautiful) front-end UI for my Plex Library. But it will not sync data unless my host computer (i.e. the computer which Plex uses to sync/store my files) is on and connected to WiFi. I’m using a Dell running Windows 11 and Rclone to host/upload files on Storj. I don’t really understand virtual hardware like Rclone. Does Rclone need to be mounted whenever I want to interact with my Plex Library in Storj, or will Storj provide me with access to Plex Library at all times so long as I have my login info?

Thanks guys

Hi @luke

No, Storj is the storage for your files. Your host computer is the Plex server.

Yes. The Rclone mount connects your Plex server to the files in Storj, without the mount the Plex Library has no files.

The files are still in Storj and can be accessed directly, but you will not have access through Plex or Prologue if the Plex server is turned off or the Rclone not mounted.

4 Likes