How would architecture of a web app look like (Storj+Nodejs)?

Hello guys.
I have little experience working on a backend so I hope you’ll welcome (or at least won’t send away :smiley:) my silly questions and thinking. And it’s probably worth mentioning that I have no prior experience working with S3 like storage.

I wanna do a project that implements uploading to and downloading from backend.
As a data storage I’m going to use Storj.

Downloading is somewhat clear to me, I believe you can download from storj directly from a web app.

But I don’t really understand how the uploading data from a web app will work.

You can’t just send something from a web browser to Storj network (can you?).
In order to upload something to Storj this something needs to be on my computer/server that communicates with Storj, so first thing is to upload from web browser to my computer/server.

But it doesn’t feel right, it sounds like an unnecessary intermediary and additional complexity to my backend.

Is there a workaround or this is how it works in most web apps that use Storj? Maybe there’re some tools that reduce (or replace) the need for intermediary storage, making life easier?

And what about performance? I don’t know shit about how it works but I believe I need a damn good server if I want to handle many downloads/uploads.

You could upload data to storj directly from the browser, but that would mean to expose secret information like connection data and encryption key. Since this data is delivered to any connecting users browser, it can be exploited.

So you need something where you can send your data to which accepts your file and forwards it to storj while keeping the storj credentials hidden.

Depending on the programming language and your skills you can proxy the file through your server without storing anything there. It’s not really unneccessary complexity. If you want to connect to a database you have the same problem.