Investing for hosting DATA

Hi. I am very new with Storj, only found out about storj few days ago due to Coinbase announcement. At the moment I am investing my money to Crypto and above this I try to get more and more different coins for long time holding. So Storj sounds as a good passive income. I have old computer and several free HDD non use disks, I like to try for the first month. To see how the system works and etc.
My old computer is using to much power, it is good for test but not to keep all year around. So my plan after test is to buy a mini pc 4core and 4TB HDD disk, it would cost me around 300 euro. For 300euro i can buy some coins and hold it, so does it worth to invest 300 euro to host data and get Storj rewards???

It is not easy to answer. Storj does not advise to invest into hardware. You certainly don’t need expensive high powered stuff. For 4 TB it may take up to 6 months or longer to fill the disk and you’ll earn approximately around 3 maybe 4 USD per TB hosted per month.

1 Like

Does it takes so much tike to fill 4TB?
3 USD is not so much, takes years to get back

The first month you can not expect a lot of traffic, as your node is going to be vetted, meaning your reliability gets checked by frequent data audits with only little data.
This goes on for approx. a month. When you node is fully vetted you can expect to receive more traffic.
Traffic can vary a lot. A lot, if not most of it is test traffic by Storj Labs, the rest is traffic from real customers so it is unpredictable how much it is, from where and when.
At the moment one of my nodes receives around 15GB daily inbound over the last days, so you can do the math how long it would take to fill 4 TB. If there is more traffic, then obviously it is going to take less time.

2 Likes

Does data stored via storj is growing constantly? I was looking for info but as far can not find Storj data increase in years.