IoT project suggestions?

Hi community! I was thinking it might be fun to hack on some IoT related projects using Tardigrade. I’m by no means an expert in this area, but IoT devices/systems seem to generate a lot of data which may make an interesting use case. Any thoughts?

5 Likes

boosting for notice – this is a thing @jennifer and I cooked up on a phone call and the team is really excited about – so please dont be shy, we would love to hear some ideas, and especially love to collaborate with community members :slight_smile: I spent a lot of 2018 and 2019 staffing the company booth at conferences. and IoT was one of the most common questions people woud ask about, so am pretty sure there has got to be some great and innovative ideas pinging around folks’ brains.Even if its an idea or something small or large, we would love to hear. the more creative the better

2 Likes

As most IoT devices are light on compute, and network, I’m quite unsure how well this would work with all the crypt functions on the IoT device being done in a timely or power inexpensive manner.

That being said-
I could see things like driver logs or accrued sensor data being packaged up and thrown into tardigrade for LTS/log storage.

3 Likes

Can you name some more IoT applications where Tardigrade could be integrated?

Off the top of my head I can only think about stuff that wouldn’t benefit and doesn’t generate much data, much less data that should be stored somewhere else. In my opinion most IoT data should remain in my own network.

It might make sense for something like a driver log, yes and maybe all those IP-Cameras (if you consider this IoT).

1 Like

Not so much of a problem if your IoT devices “phone home” to a hosted gateway but yes, I’m also unconvinced about this particular use case.
Then again, maybe I just lack the imagination :wink:

1 Like