Is my Subnet killing me?

Ohai,

I’m pretty new to the storj node game. I got myself set up with 2 nodes running on raspi 3B+, one with a 1tb hdd, the other with a 5tb hdd. Setting them up was easy so thanks for the clear guide on installing storj on a pi.

But now that i got everything running i found out that i could get a free upgrade with my ISP to get 5x download and upload speeds, which ofc i took. I was hoping for a higher bandwidth use after the speeds where updated, but nothing happened. As a matter of fact, my total ingress even went down. Im currenctly receiving only 2,5GB per node per day, which was quite the disappointment.

I tested the connections and ping, everything is great pulling 180 mbps per pi with a ping of 16ms.
Am i not getting more data because there is (close to) no traffic (in my region)? Or has it got something to do with me being on subnet 255.255.255.0 and the fact that there are almost 300 nodes running in my small country, making it probable that many of them are on my subnet? Or am i doing something wrong?

Both pi’s are running on the same IP both with diff ports.

Love to fix the speed and be a SNO for years to come :slight_smile:

kind regards,
Rob

I think the storagenode operators are doing so well that the customers can’t keep up.

2 Likes

Traffic has been very low lately, 2.5GB per node and per day doesn’t seem too bad.
It’s hard to draw a conclusion at the moment, once testing resumes and traffic increases it’ll be easier to see if you’re sharing your subnet with someone else.

3 Likes

Depending on how new the nodes are, they’re likely not through the vetting period yet. So that could some what account for the ~5GB/day ingress total. My two, fully vetted nodes have been averaging ~18GB/day ingress total and I have a static IP, so they’re the only two nodes on the subnet. The ingress traffic has been relatively low for the past 2 months. So I wouldn’t worry about what you’re seeing at the moment.