Moving node from one HDD to another on the same computer

Hello,

I just added a 8TB HDD to my existing computer that is curently running a storj node. I’d like to move the node from the old 1TB HDD to the new 8TB HDD. Same computer, same WIFI, just a new HDD. I will need to remove the old 1 TB HDD from the computer after the switch is complete.

Can anyone offer me a step by step guide? I’m a newbie at this stuff…

Hello @Randall ,
Welcome to the forum!

You can follow this guide: How to migrate the Windows GUI node from one physical location to another? - Node Operator
Since it’s the same PC, you do not need to share disks. It would be simple as (cmd or PowerShell):

robocopy /MIR D:\storagenode E:\storagenode

Just need to repeat this several time while node running until the difference would be negligible, then stop a service (elevated PowerShell):

Stop-Service storagenode

Then run the robocopy command one more time to copy remaining pieces.
Modify a path to data in the config file: How do I change values like wallet address or storage capacity? - Node Operator and allocated space, save the config (menu File - Save, it could ask for administrative rights, confirm and click menu File - Save again), then restart the storagenode from the elevated PowerShell:

Restart-Service storagenode

Then check your dashboard and make sure that all data in place. Otherwise stop the storagenode service and check your path.
Please also check your logs: How do I check my logs? - Node Operator

I would not recommend to use WiFi for network connection for your storagenode - you likely lose the race for pieces more often than others, because WiFi is not designed for massive data transfers or access to storage.

4 Likes

how will I know if the “difference is negligable”?

Every run of the transfer command the amount of transferred data should reduce as a time to transfer it. When it would be a few minutes instead of hours, I think it would be a needed moment.

1 Like