Multi-node setup on same NAS

Hello!

I have my first couple nodes up and running on different locations and machines, but I have a synology box I’m trying to get running a total of 4 instances. How do I go about creating identities for the 3 new boxes? Once I have them in place do I need 4 total instances of the docker service running? I’m very meh with linux and this is my first time working with docker - so I’m somewhat an idiot. I have the first node online already, so I’m trying to do this without taking the existing instance offline. Below is the run script I’m setting up for the second instance - just kinda FYI.

Thanks for whatever help you can offer!

sudo docker run -d --restart unless-stopped --stop-timeout 300
-p 28968:28967/tcp
-p 28968:28967/udp
-p 14003:14002
-e WALLET=“thisismywallet”
-e EMAIL="bobwords612@gmail.com"
-e ADDRESS=“thisismyddns:28968”
-e STORAGE=“12.80565TB”
–mount type=bind,source="/volume1/docker/storj/multinode/identity_28968",destination=/app/identity
–mount type=bind,source="/volumeUSB1/usbshare/Storj",destination=/app/config
–name storagenode storjlabs/storagenode:latest

1. You need to generate an unique identity for each node. I would recommend to place each of them to the related disk with data
  2. Each identity should be signed with a new authorization token
  3. You need to run as much docker instances, as you have nodes. Each with own identity and disk for data
  4. You need to forward unique external port to the unique port on your Synology. Your example looks valid.

See also How to add an additional drive? - Node Operator

To resolve the Offline issue you need to check your port forwarding rule and firewall on Synology.

1 Like

One quick other question - how do I go about activating the identities? I’m getting the key generated on my local machine since it moves 10x faster than the nas. Can I just activate on the windows box with the identity files in my appdata folder and move them to my preferred location on the NAS?