New node operator, have a few questions

First of all let me say that I am excited to have discovered this project. I am a decentralization freak and I work as a sysadmin/devops dude during the day. I haven’t yet, but I plan on actually using Storj for some personal projects of mine to try it out.

Anyway, right now I have two physical nodes running (redundant power, redundant networking, dual CPU, 20TB total shared of RAID 5 arrays) that are also mining XMR with half the threads. I also have symmetrical gigabit fiber with virtually no downtime. These are hand-me-down machines I have collected from work that I was already mining with. I was just curious if there was anyone else out there running “high performance” configurations such as this, and what sort of usage results you have seen. Also, does the network actually measure my bandwidth or does it just look at aggregate data?

I saw elsewhere someone mentioned it being an issue that both nodes are sharing one WAN IP. Is this a hard case or can my bandwidth/uptime overcome this? I suppose you wouldn’t want to host an NFS mount.

Just curious is all. I didn’t like seeing those bays just sit empty… I’ll run the nodes until the boards are dead

Hi and welcome.

Let me start with this: For running a node you don’t need: Redundant power, redundant networking, dual CPU, 20 TB of free space or RAID.

Nodes can be run on a Raspberry Pi or similar devices (I usually mention this device here as it is close to being perfect for running a Storj node: Odroid HC-2)

Much more important than the computer specs would be the ip addresses. The Storj satellites consider nodes on the same /32 /24 net as one node and share the traffic among them. So if you can get a different second ip for your second node it could be beneficial.