New Project using Storj

Hi there,

I’m new to Storj but convinced that end-to-end encryption is the way to go. I need help with interpreting some of Storj’s functionality.

I am building an app that will store user created videos from their mobile apps, which will be end-to-end encrypted, on Storj.

My understanding is that for a mobile app to be able to store data, it needs to use an API Key to request an Access Grant from a satellite. The user will provide a passphrase for that.

I tested and concluded that Access Tokens will grant access to files, regardless of what API Key was used to issue those Access Tokens.

Specifically, two different mobile apps, using different API Keys to request for Access Grants, would enable users to see each other’s files if they accidentally chose the same passphrase, when requesting for the Access Token.

The mobile app can enforce complexity criteria for passphrases, sure. I want however to clarify with the team here that I am reading the situation accurately i.e. As long as the passphrase is the same, and the Access Grant happens to provide access to the same bucket, users can see each other’s data.

Hello @zesantos ,

Welcome to the Forum!
I’ve passed your questions to the team and someone will return with your answers.

You should probably create an access grant for each user using their passphrase and include caveats to only allow access to user specific paths. That way you create user separation with more than just the passphrase. Access Restrictions - Storj DCS Docs

You may also consider using some password based key derivation function to ensure long encryption keys, even if the user chose some weaker shorter password. It’s hard to convince end users to do it right. This would at least add some additional security against brute force by adding a computational cost to each attempt.

2 Likes

Hi @zesantos!

We have a couple of layers of things -