No CORS header set in dashboard API response headers

I’m trying to make a simple React web app to show node stats by querying the dashboard API. However, my browser gives a CORS error when I make the request:
Cross-Origin Request Blocked: The Same Origin Policy disallows reading the remote resource at http://192.168.42.8:14002/api/sno. (Reason: CORS header 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' missing).

I’m not an expert in this but from what I’ve googled around it looks like the response headers from dashboard API should have “Access-Control-Allow-Origin” set to “*” for this to work.

The API itself works fine, I tested it with a Python script.

Any ideas? Am I doing something wrong here or should I make a suggestion to the devs?

1 Like

You are correct! This isn’t implemented AFAIK. Ideally we’d allow users to configure CORS and implement the necessary endpoints for the OPTIONS requests. This would be a good thing for a feature request.

6 Likes

So what is the current status of this feature? Is there any ability to configure the value of “access-control-allow-origin” property in Response Headers?

Currently response header looks like this:

access-control-allow-origin: *

Am I right if I say that now everybody who has link to my files in the bucket (for example: my huge .geojson files in web application) can easily fetch them and I will pay for a storage and egress?

Context: I use folder in the bucket for web hosting of the client side web application, in a few internal public folders there are .geojson files, which are fetched by my application.

I have shared that folder with this command:

uplink share --dns demo.domain.com sj://webapp/demo --not-after=none