Optimal database(s) write size?

Caveat: I am not a developer/programmer

I use a little program called “ioztat” to monitor the per-dataset read/write statistics for my storj node. I’ve noticed that the databases are very consistent in their average write operation size of 2 KiB. Most zfs users likely have their pool’s ashift set to match 4K or 8K sector sizes which I believe means that these database operations are fairly inefficient at using the dataset space since the sector size is the smallest operation size that can be used.

Is the 2KiB write size deliberate? Even non-zfs users would likely have disks with 4K sectors so I’m curious if that’s a design consideration for buffering writes in 4K amounts instead.

Average read/write IO stats for my storj dataset since creation (about five weeks ago):

operations    throughput      opsize   
dataset      read  write   read  write   read  write
----------  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----
tank
  storj         0      0  8.53K  23.8K  83.0K  40.6K
    dbs         0      0  3.63K  1.62K  3.98K  2.00K

Cheers.

3 Likes

It is a bug and not a feature. We are testing out different settings that should work better for storage nodes but that also has impact on performance and durability. So we need to balance it out carefully. You can follow this: RS testing · Issue #4424 · storj/storj · GitHub

had a bit of trouble figuring out exactly what this meant…

Reed Solomon Code, ofc it was that… but well i’m not that use to hearing that yet so RS didn’t unacronym for me immediately lol.
basically this stuff.

can’t say i really understand the details of it… lol, does make me wonder a bit why going down in scale on the RS scheme, would make the databases writes larger.

but i suppose that is down to divisors, like say the difference between using a base10 vs using a base12 numeral system.
its much easier to divide stuff in a base12 than in a base10 without getting into decimal numbers.