Pi4 Nodes improvements - 2 nodes

Hi fellow SNO’s!

I’m a node operator for a while now, mainly starting to learn more about linux, docker and networking in general. Started with one node, expanded to two nodes on two 8TB disks but I see a stagnation in growth, in both the nodes. Both relative to their size. The first node wasn’t “full” at the time of adding the second. But the growth rate was enough to make the jump, even though it would eat at the other one, being on one IP and all.

Being a regular observer of the forum, I sometimes read about certain setups that I don’t really understand. I’ll refer to “what I’ve read”. So I wanted to discuss three topic:

1. Hardware setup
    1. Monitoring
    1. Software/Linux setup
  1. Hardware setup
    I’m running a Pi4 4GB, with an external 2-bay through USB3 (externally powered). The OS is running from a SD card. My main concern is power-usage as that’s the most expensive part of my operation. So this is as slim a relatively stable setup can get for me. I’m not looking for any major improvements, but I’ve been reading that an SSD OS disk can make a difference. However my only way of adding this would be through a USB3 > Sata connected SSD, and that doesn’t sound a like super stable OS setup to me.

2. Monitoring
    For some reason I don’t really seem to grasp how to add monitoring to my node without burning (or being afraid to burn) too much resources. I read about using an API, to consume this outside of the node. But I can’t seem to find much in-depth guidance. I’m tech-savvy enough but I need some hand holding, exploring this new terrain.

I’ve been reading about monitoring how many request you get to fill and how many you loose out on. I guess this would be valuable to know, and critical to measure any improvements I’ll make.

I’m able to run local monitoring servers, if necessary. I’m looking for something visual and more in-depth than the dashboard.

1. Software/Linux setup