Proxmox VM´s with USB disks?

Hi,
I have a Lenovo tiny with 32GB RAM and was thinking that it would be a waste of resources to install a single Storj node on that computer.

I also have some USB disks laying around, and was thinking to install ProxMox and multiple VM nodes, and then attach a USB disk to each node.
That way I get the USB disk to work on something rather than they just lay still and do nothing.

Im still new to ProxMox, does anyone have experience with running a Storj node on a VM and attaching USB drive to it?
Or would this be a bad idea ?

If you want to create other VMs on that server then proxmox is a way to go. I have an LXC Container running a storage node and a USB drive mounted on the proxmox server itself.
Alternatively if you only want to run storage nodes, it might be simpler to run several storagenode docker containers directly on the Lenovo server (installed with your favorite Linux distro) using different ports for each container.
I do both.

2 Likes

short answer: no

long answer: no no no noooooooooo

4 Likes

Please don’t teach newbies to shoot themselves in the foot by bypassing the rules and killing the network. Lost data = lost customers = lost payout, especially for such not reliable setups.

3 Likes

For multiple nodes I would not recommend to use one VM per node - why to waste resources?
The direct connection of USB disk to the VM will cause multiple issues, so it’s better to use a virtual disk instead, allow the host to manage disks, not VM.

2 Likes

Agree, actually I would even not use any VM unless there’s a strict need.

So, multiple docker instances or LXC-containers would serve the same purpose, which are really lightweight in comparison.

If I would do this, I would pass them through as block devices. Much easier. Mind the fact they need enough power, especially if they are bus powered you can run in trouble quite soon. Then it looks like you’ve got bad drives and failing file systems, but it’s just underpower …

Hi,