Safety of third-party dependencies

Are there any closed source dependecies used by Storj software (Satellite, SNO, client)?
Are there many open source dependencies used by Storj software?
Is there a safety protocol for verifying and testing each version for each dependencie that gets used in the project?
Is this protocol followed to the letter?
I don’t look for specific answears, I just want to know that Storj Inc. is doing everything it can to prevent side channel attacks, because any dev. can go rogue or have his github account compromised.
I’m not a programmer, but I read articles about compromised open source software that keep me up at night…
And I don’t approve of any closed source dependencie used in an open source project.

Please check our GitHub repo, the file go.mod in particular in any repo:

You may check the license of a each dependency yourself.

1 Like

And this is the procedure of adding / auditing new dependencies: Dependencies · storj/storj Wiki · GitHub

4 Likes

I share your concerns and I’ll try to answer as clearly as possible without diving too deep.

Are there any closed source dependecies used by Storj software (Satellite, SNO, client)?

The short answer, yes, it’s open source. You can even setup a local testing network via GitHub - storj/up: Docker-compose files for running full Storj network locally.

The only private part what we use for runtime is some branding / style customization, everything else is open source. We have some internal tools / configuration sets / deployment descriptors / tooling which are not open source, but they are not a strong requirement for running an independent Satellite. And we try to open source these, when it makes sense (for example the batch payment scripts are open sources after a refactor: GitHub - storj/crypto-batch-payment: A high volume ERC20 token payment application.)