SNO move Return of Experience: A comprehensive story of moving a SNO from Europe to Canada

Just a word

I’ve been using Storj as a Storage Node Operator since about 2 years now.
Few months ago, I had this project of moving to another country. Because of a lot of constraints (including Covid-19 restrictions), this move would have impact the availability of my node and would have probably lead to disqualification of all my nodes. Indeed, for a such move, you have to think about how you will do port forwarding, how you will bring your physical storage, etc.
After all time invested in those nodes and since they are all running well for a quite some time, I didn’t want to gracefully exit, neither leaving my held amount.
That’s why I started to think about how to keep my nodes during this move.

I’d like to share this experience with all Storj community.
I hope some of you will find some good advice. If others think this was not the best approach, at least it may lead to interesting discussions.

Do not consider it as a handbook: some keypoints may be missing, some risks may be underestimated, some tools or operations may not work in your situation and since we are talking about a quite new service, some advice/information may be outdated.
This guide is just a detailed process of what worked for me. I hope it will do it for your as well.

So I hope by sharing my own experience, it will help you to decide or to accomplish a migration in a smooth way.
Have fun!

Being a SNO requires you to invest some time…

Since I heard about Storj, I spent non negligible effort to understand, setup and optimize my node architecture. But most importantly: I learned a lot.
Of course, I also earned a significant amount of money. I mean that, considering the capital I put in it (essentially in buying HDDs) and the operational costs (mostly electricity), I earned some money even if this didn’t make me rich. It is worth it.

Of course, being a SNO is not always a “setup and forget” process.