Storj app for Umbrel

Hello everyone,

This is my first post on the forum, but I’ve been storjing and reading for many months. Happy to finally step up and join the community.

The reason why I’m posting is that Storj doesn’t have an Umbrel app yet, and I want to share the initiative to start researching and implementing a Storage Node app for Umbrel.

For those that are not familiar with Umbrel, It is an app store for decentralized nodes (usually a raspberry) although it is still young and beta, I see extreme potential for Umbrel.

I’m open to feedback, ideas and everything that would help. If we find that this idea is worth it pursuing I will be happy to implement it myself in my free time.

Thank you all, see you around!

1 Like

For what I read, it’s just an UI on top of docker installed on an ubuntu-like system.

Dunno why they call it “OS”, this is absolutetly not an operating system…not even decentralized. Seem only a lot of nice words piled up.

Anyway, storj already have the docker composer file\container, it can be added easily.

Although I agree that the official docker is the best technical implementation for experts, I also believe we are moving towards a mass adoption of self-hosting nodes (including non-techies) as web3 becomes a reality.

We will see solutions like umbrel oversimplifiying the installation of storj-like apps with one-click for people that are interested in Web3, but doesn’t have the time to learn the skills.

I know we’re not short of storj operators, so putting the efforts in implementing that is more about working towards a mature ecosystem where you have an oversimplified install option with his own kit of drawbacks.

I haven’t tried the OS, but I think they just made a linux distribution, in any case I also prefeer a real linux distro and installing umbrel on top.

1 Like