Storj for de-googling :-)

Hi everyone,

I’m a kind of tech-entrepreneur and I see huge potential with Storj. Wondering with the current situation of how Google, Facebook, (mainly the Big Techs) manipulate and control ourselves, I want to give to the common user a tool to substitute Google Drive for a cloud drive based on Storj. But, I’m not sure I can do it, these are my questions:

• Can I create a client software for FileStreaming? (not syncing folders, filestreaming) That’s the easiest question :wink:
  • Having the filestreaming working, can I share a file with other user? he should have an account.
  • My goal is to build that service for end-users, so then, using tardigrade, how can I create secret keys for the users from my account? It’s very important to keep security for them.
  • If I share documents with other users, is that possible to collaborate with other users editing it in real-time?

Many thanks for your help!!

1 Like

I think it is a matter of moving some of the tasks and work as a temporary “buffer” to the server that will host the entire service. Same work on one file. Many users can have access to the same file, but the way you give them access is up to you. A large part of the tasks must be performed on the server side hosting the service. I think you can pay attention to how nextcloud works and using Tardigrade (or other s3-compatible) as Primary Storage.

1 Like

It kind-of defeats the purpose.

If I have to use my server between Tardigrade and the client, then I might as well store the files directly on that server - most likely it would be cheaper and I would not need to pay double for bandwidth (Tardigrade → my server → client).

I think the real answer is an Uplink that runs in a browser etc so that the client can get files directly from Tardigrade.

2 Likes