Understanding Tardigrade architecture

What’s the framework of Storj’s architecture?

Our framework consists of 8 components, which are incorporated into 3 different areas of the network

The eight components are

  1. Storage nodes
  2. Peer-to-peer communication and discovery
  3. Redundancy
  4. Metadata
  5. Encryption
  6. Audits and reputation
  7. Data repair
  8. Payments

Since the framework and components are fundamental to the overarching Storj platform, we dont expect this to change. What we do expect is that that concrete implementation will change over time, as the network matures and evolves.

The three parts of the network are

  1. Uplink – this is any software or service which invokes LibUplink to communicate with Satellites and Storage Nodes. Examples of Uplinks include the Uplink CLI and the Gateway.

  2. Storage Node – which stores the data for the network. Each one is independently operated and does not share bandwidth, power or other resources.

  3. Satellite – which operates as a heavy client that connects Uplinks to the Storage Node network and manages metadata for files. It also handles file audits, repair and other crucial network tasks. There will be many satellites on the network and companies and community members will be able to operate their own satellites as well.

1 Like

I think this may refer to Kademlia. Especially the discovery part of that. Since Kademlia has been removed this isn’t entirely correct anymore. Though Peer-to-peer transfers would still apply.