Whitespace Utilization

Hi all.

Why doesnt STORJ use the white space / idle bandwidth to generate revenue for storage node operators? Because, simply put, its not in use.

I’m mulling over things, I’ve got a node running on my PC with 5 TB allocated, I’ve read about things “going quiet”, I’m not considering moving forward with this, it doesnt look optimistic.

If this is “mining” then surely this equates to having a graphics card/ASIC with a cap on it for some obscure reason outside our control?

Hi @JimboSlice, StorJ is not mining. If you want to waste electricity, bandwidth and free disk space then join FIL.

7 Likes

This is not mining.

So when a taxi driver has no customer in his car, he should drive around aimlessly to create revenue for his company? Which he pays for from his own pocket? I don’t really get what you are proposing.

2 Likes

Hi, I was going to mention that, you mean filecoin?

If i was a taxi driver (my father is) and I had no customers, and driving around empty would earn me revenue, yeah I certainly would drive around earning revenue… Why sit there doing nothing?

Yeah Filecoin, that seems to use resources unnecessarily.

StorJ by design has low buy-in for node operators, recommending no investment up front, just reuse of existing hardware. Only using resources when required.

2 Likes

Don’t you consider it a bit of a turn-off? Speaking as a miner (I mine all sorts of coins and trade) we only look at the economics of things that land on our doorstep, we’d only get closer to a project to help out by being more involved and on a promise of more materialistic incentives, now and in future.