ZFS reporting much more HDD space used

I’m not a novice with ZFS but I don’t understand why the amount of HDD space that ZFS reports as used is so far off from the Storj Dashboard indications.

Any other ZFS-backed Storj users that can enlighten me?

The dashboard reports 13 GB used, 3.7 GB trash.

ZFS reporting:

NAME        AVAIL   USED  USEDSNAP  USEDDS  USEDREFRESERV  USEDCHILD  LUSED
tank/storj  1.98T  21.9G        0B   21.9G             0B      3.71M  35.4G

I’m really enjoying getting started with Storj. That terabyte was just sitting there unused anyhow!

It could be related to sector size, used in zpool.
The dashboard calculates used space by system function, the similar results you can get using du -S for the blobs folder in the storage location. The size of databases is not included.

If you enable compression this overhead should get reduced.

Compression is already on (but wasn’t always). Perhaps the first 5 GB was uncompressed. I was surprised to see any effective compression since the data is encrypted but it’s actually fairly good:

NAME            PROPERTY       VALUE  SOURCE
tank/storj      compressratio  1.62x  -
tank/storj/dbs  compressratio  1.79x  -

@Alexey my ashift and sector size shouldn’t be an issue, ashift=13 and the drives have 4k sectors.

It is not the data that gets compressed. The compressed data is mostly coming from padding to hit the sector size.

2 Likes

Ah, that makes sense. I’ve debated what to set for recordsize based on other threads about using ZFS with Storj. Several mention the average file size being approximately 2MB on their nodes but it’s closer to 260K on mine for the time being.

Space isn’t a worry for me as I am far away from the 1TB, it’s just out of a tinkering interest that I ask.

err ashift=13 is 8k block size… 4k is ashift=12
ashift=9 is 512B and then it doubles with every step.
so 10 is 1k, 11 is 2k, 12 is 4k… so on and so forth