Allow to merge two nodes into one

hello,

It may be interesting to put a function to join 2 or more nodes into one.

As a node operator I had 3 nodes, each separated on a hard drive as recommended.

What happens now is that I have migrated from having 3 separate disks to a RAID-Z1 (ZFS raid) so now having 3 separate nodes on the same Volume doesn’t make any more sense.

Is posible create something like the Gracefull exit but saying exactly which node you want to transfer your data to?

Thank you

Also, split would be good.
Also multidisk node where audit is per disk.
Node merge makes lots of sense with disk sizes of 26 TB available soon

1 Like

Yes, it is not necessary to have a raidz. but with a disk that is larger it would be the same.

Assuming I have 3 x 4TB and now I have a 20TB drive I no longer need to have 3 nodes on 1 drive.

Having 3 nodes on a disk increases the IO Delay much more than if you had only 1 node with the same amount of information.

Likewise, having 1 or 3 nodes will receive the same amount of information that comes from the satellites.

thanks

yeah, but 3 disks serve data 3 time faster than 1 big disk.

I would like to bring this topic up, as today price make lot of small nodes unprofitable. So it would be good to give people more flexibility. Lot of people have some small and some big nodes, opportunity to merge nodes gives people hold on electricity. It cold be just like GE but to one specific node, so there is no need to big code writings.

2 Likes

If you think it’s a small code change - your PR is welcome!

There are several issues:

1. Using random nodes for transfer is by design. Data should not be centralized.
  2. There is a rule of one node per /24 subnet for the same reason.
  3. Your node must be at least 6 months old to call a Graceful Exit. I do not know, will the small node still small after 6 months.

Due to the restrictions above I do not think it would be implemented anytime soon.