Combine multiple various harddisks into a striped volume with Windows Storage Spaces?

Hi,

I’ve been running a node for about 6 months, on a single 3TB HDD.
Current setup : Win10 pro, Core i3 (4Ghz), 4GB RAM, SSD for OS, 3TB HDD, exclusively for the node
ISP/Location : Europe, 1G downstream, 100mb upstream

Because of (or thanks to) various NAS upgrades and migrations, I now have a bunch of 3TB (7 or 8) and 4TB (2 or 3) HDD’s as well as an empty Sharkoon 5bay raid enclosure.

(so actually zero investment cost for the node)

I also have a Dawicontrol DC-624e RAID controller (for 4 internal SATA) and a DeLOCK PCI Express x2 Card > 10 x internal SATA 6 Gb/s serial-ata controller (non raid, but for 10 connections)

with all that, I though to reuse it to up my stakes in my node and migrate from the 3TB to a bigger volume.

Going for the max possible space, I was thinking of using the 10 port controller to hookup 10 HDD’s, and use Windows storage spaces to create a striped volume of at least 14TB (Microsoft way of mimicking Raid5) so I can afford a disk failure and time to replace it. (and possibilities to slowly grow the volume larger?)

The other option is to use the Sharkoon in raid5, but that would limit me to 5x 3TB disks (10TB useful). Also, I heard they are not always stable? (random disconnects)

Using the PCIe raidcontroller would limit me to just 4 disks

Are there a lot of experiences using Windows Storage Spaces as “volume” layer for a storage node?

Any feedback is welcome

Thanks

I did that with an HP Microserver with 4x3TB HDD Enterprise Storage totaling 12TB…until one of the disks caput!
Result? Lost my oldest node.

1 Like

Hi,
did you create a spanned volume or a striped volume with parity?
the first would be bad, the second should have allowed for 1 disk failure.

I will do a test to see how Storage Spaces reacts when I unplug a disk, before moving my node over.