Discussion on scaling the network - a multi-node SNO tier proposal

Hi all,

Let me reopen the issue of multi-node setups that do not strictly adhere to the ToS of Storj. I understand it has been discussed several times but it appears to me that no solution was found and given the high number of nodes behind hosting services the issue of scaling the network is not properly addressed.

I want to be constructive and propose some ideas that could be beneficial for both Storj as a company and SNOs. First let me give a brief background:

I have been running a small node for many years but never really considered it more than a hobby and nice experiment contributing the ideals of decentralisation. After all an 8TB node pays a couple bucks a month. This was reflected on my attitude towards it. I rarely checked on it, it was sometimes down for several days without me even noticing. Running a single node is simply not worth the time to pay serious attention.

Coming from the failing world of Chia farming the idea of converting one of my smaller rigs with 10 HDDs to a ā€˜Storagenode Rigā€™ crossed my mind. To overcome the 1 IP limitation I could route each storagenode via a VPS running a VPN server. I believe there are others out there who already do this.

There is no need to argue whether running 10 storagenodes through 10 different VPS/VPNs is in line with ToS (it is clearly not) or whether ToS are up to date (clearly not). My goal is to discuss the trade-offs between decentralisation, performance and incentives and possibly start a discussion that actually leads somewhere.