Has it ever been considered to use in-memory databases?

Something like suggested here:

would require UPS? then its a nogo.

1 Like

I don’t think it would require a UPS.
My idea is:

1. On node start create database in memory and import existing databases from disk
  2. Periodically (maybe configurable by SNO) backup databases to disk
  3. On node shutdown export the memory database to disk

I mean the databases are nice to have but not that mandatory. In case of issues (power, unexpected shutdown or whatever) the SNO would only lose the data since the last periodical backup.

I don’t know if that would work, I am not a coder but that’s my idea.

1 Like

That increases ram usage a lot, especialy for low ram devices like raspi and nas.

1 Like

How much would that be?
Very often we read the advice to move databases to SSD for better performance.
Yes, maybe on some devices it would require more Ram but on others maybe that would improve performance a lot?

500MB per node estimate, im no coder also.
but i think a switch on solution is not worth the ressources.
if the device has enough ram, there are also solutions via primocache, arc,os, special devices, ramdisk software, etc…

1 Like

As far as I understand there is a lot of old historical data in the databases. This does not sound like data that has to be in memory at all times. There should be an archive database for old data (like last month) and database for current data (actual month) which could then go into memory.
This could reduce the memory footprint a bit.

2 Likes

the real big db s already do archives. other dbs do wal mode, i think the bigges problem is the fragmentation of the dbs.

I don’t know which of them are the most I/O intensive ones. But at least those of course should the one that should be running in memory.
Maybe this could be even made optional. So SNO could choose how to run it.

1 Like