Identity_windows_amd64.exe completes quickly, generates 4 files

Hello everyone, I’m new to Storj but this appears to be a great community. I’m looking forward to being part of it.

So I decided to give Storj a shot on Win10 and found the setup to be fairly straightforward but ran into a problem I wasn’t aware of until I attempted to fire up my node. It wouldn’t come online so I started troubleshooting. I discovered that when I created my identity, it did not create all 6 necessary files as documented in the install guide and on this thread My Node is OFFLINE for 2 hours. When I initially ran identity_windows_amd64.exe, it completed in under 5 seconds on an older Celeron so I was a bit shocked but figured I got lucky. So, per the install guide I re-ran “identity_windows_amd64.exe create storagenode” again and again. Each time it completes in under 30 seconds, reports no errors but only generates 4 files. (ca.cert, ca.key, identity.cert, identity.key). I’ve now tried running it on 3 different Win 10 machines with the same result. Hoping someone can shed some light on what the issue could be. Also wondering if I’m screwed now since I have already used my auth token against an invalid identity? Appreciate any input. Thanks!

Hello @the_kegs,
Welcome to the forum!

You just missed the part to sign your identity with an one-time authorization token.
If you do not have one, you should subscribe to the waitlist.

1 Like

Alexey,

Thanks for the welcome and quick reply. OK gotcha on the 6 files only showing up after you sign. Is it still normal for it to complete so quickly? The guide says hours to day depending on your machine. I’m running it on an older machine and every time it completes in under 30 seconds?