More Bandwidth used than allowed

I allowed 50% of partition for the node on a 1gb network and I cannot use anything in my house. Change the partition cmd out there? I’ve seen examples in the yaml code, do I change it? Would really like to keep the node but I’m a graduate student and need access to my computer… Not even the separate tower used exclusively for this will bring a page up. Bandwidth around 500 and 800gb *hr…in a day. Is this normal at first?

Gbh is not a bandwidth, it is space allocated in your node, with time you hold it. if you have 1 GB and hold for 24h you will get 24GBh. if you need also use ethernet, then you can setup your router to limid your node connection. then you can live some bandwidth for your use. You have 1 GB connection speed? it cant be true, as node never reach this fast. May be your node connected by wifi? then it will eat all of it, wifi is slow connection.

Space used 800 gbr. Not bandwidth

do you use your disk same with OS?

I believe so. It’s all windows.

@malcolmry00 Sorry been working so never got a chance to get back to you after you created your own thread.

So we need to start with some basics to see what is going on. A new node should not get a lot of traffic to start, mostly audits until it get validated, and then traffic will depend on a number of factors.

1. Internet connection speed. Not your internal network, but the numbers given to you by your ISP. I’m on 750/750. But I really don’t see any impact from SNO on my internet bandwidth as I don’t see usage higher than 30 to 40 MB/s. Right now it’s around 4 to 6 MB/s with some bursts up to about 20 MB/s.

2. What are you using to route the traffic? What kind of router do you have?

3. Wired vs Wireless. How is the SNO connecting to your network?

4. Is the SNO on shared storage with something else? Specs of the hardware you are running the SNO on.