I have double checked my identity and firewalls, yet my port forwarding seems to be closed, even though I set it up correctly on my Linksys router. Anything I can do? (my node has been offline for 5 hours)

hi even if you’ve set up your firewall+port-forwarding correctly, if the storagenode container is not starting up a tcp listener at the port your forwarding towards, the node will appear offline.

can you please provide the storagenode logging here with docker logs storagenode

in addition to that, please paste the container startup command your’re using with truncated personal info

Sorry but I’m very new at this, could you repeat this as if you were explaining it to a 5 year old?

haha, no worries!

Let’s take a step back! Are you running on linux?

I’m running my node on Windows 10, I should have mentioned that…

okido, so lets start by verifying your network firewalling+port-forwarding.

• Open up your command promt.
  • Make sure docker is not running a storagenode container docker ps -a
  • If it is, then stop it with docker stop --time 300 storagenode.
  • Again on the windows box, start a manual listener on the port you want your storagenode to be accessible on. The default one is 28967. Do this by running ncat -l -p 28967
  • Use an online port scanning tool to verify that you can reach that listener you started. Goto http://nmap.online-domain-tools.com/, select custom scan and enter there -v -Pn -p 28967 {YOUR_PUBLIC_IP}. The dialogue box that would appear should say open in the 6th-7th line
1 Like

I tried running all your suggested commands in command prompt and PowerShell, both with admin, I think you might be wrong there, because they did not work… however, I checked my port like you said and this was the full result:

Starting Nmap 6.47 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2020-05-21 12:31 Coordinated Universal Time

Initiating Parallel DNS resolution of 1 host. at 12:31

Completed Parallel DNS resolution of 1 host. at 12:31, 0.15s elapsed