Suggestion of new feature "RaceWin algorithm "

Hi community,

this is my first post but I’m an active node operator since 3 years.
Sorry for my bad English, but I don’t speak it very well.

I have a suggestion for the next release.
Is it possible to develop and insert in the dashboard a mechanism to count and show the racewin?

I will try to explain.

Actually, i don’t know if my node is performing in the right way and i don’t know if my setup is optimal to win all the possible races and i don’t know if i’m exposing super slow storage or the type of disk i’m buying is garbage.

If is possible to develop a kind of counter based on some algorithm, all the storage operators can know immediately and discretionally if they can adjust their performance towards the customer.
I think this is useful to help anyone want to expose ever better (possible) service.
The algorithm should be exposed not to penalize the slowest storage (they are already “penalized” without winning all the race) but only to tell “hey your storage is orange, if you want waste your money installing some PB of NVME”.

I’m not sure if i have exposed the concept correctly, but what do you think is about?

As far as i know there is several scripts that can tel you how successful are your node.
So dont see any reason developers to build it.
Also if you setup your node to WARN log mode, then you will se only warnings and errors in logs, and then you can suppose how much rases you not wined on download or upload.
So it is all simple.

2 Likes

Hi Vadim, thanks for your feedback.
So, why i need to launch some script when there is a simple dashboard?

Just to understand, WARN and ERROR are my racewin indicator?
Or are just another paramether/indicator of some misconfiguration or anomalies?

1 Like

Logs have uploads and downloads and their results
Every upload begins with a line that says upload started and ends with a line that says uploaded or a line that says upload canceled or upload failed.