What is if a big Disk fail?

Hello there,

I’m really new to Storj. I have a 24/7 Server as a Hobby and Storage server. Furthermore, I have a LXC Container with one disk of 1 TB and a LXC Container with a disk of 16 TB data available.

I have read here in the forum, but I think not an answer to my Question to this.

What if my 16 TB fails. Then I would replace with another 16 TB disk, mount it at the same spot, start the Docker Container and it is all good? Or is there a timepanelty for the rebuild time? With Download speed of 250 mbit/s and if the disk would be full, it would a longer time to rebuild the System. Because, if there is a big amount of TB lost, it could be useful to run a RAID in the end. Or guess I wrong?

Or what is the strategy, if a Disk died.

I have already read, that my IP is like one node. So more nodes at home are not more nodes at Storj right?

There is no such thing like a rebuild for nodes. You can only start a new node from zero.

3 Likes

Thanks for the fast answer.

But, if I have 16 TB of Storage, it would have a duration of 2 years to recover from this, because the Data has to go on my storage again. If this Storj earnings estimator - Google Sheets is the base.

Then add another disk as a mirror.
Of course thats just dead disk space (and cost) until you get a failure

1 Like

Redundancy is in the network. After 4h offline, the urgent pieces are rebuild usualy 1-4% of the data (you lose it after going back online).
(held amount covers the repair costs, the rebuild goes to other nodes)
there is enough time (12 days) to fix minor things (fans/psu/etc.) before suspension or disqualification (offline too long, audits etc.)

You are financialy better off running a seperate node instead of hot-spares or parity/mirror raids.
(bathtub curve)

Databases and logs
(they are non-vital, exept orders.db.) may go to an other ssd
drive for saving iops.
(even usb sticks are possible, if durable and right formated)