Docker vs ubuntu vm on truenas

Hi all,
I’m new in Storj world and i have a question.
I have an old dell t320 and with e5-2470 xeon cpu, 32gb of ram and 10gbps fibre internet
i installed truenas scale (linux based) on it to have possiblity to use raidz and to add more disks later
Now i will start with 4x4tb hard drives so my question which is better and easier for expanding storage, mounting, adding more disks as i’m not a linux expert, install storj docker on truenas or create a ubuntu vm and install storj on it ?

Thanks
Best regards.

Hi Dali44,

There are tradeoffs, if you add another layer (VM) you may introduce some additional latency. It will be slight, but nodes tend to be in a race against other nodes to deliver data. Less latency, more data. So that would point to having less layers as an advantage.

But… You might want to run more than one environment, so you can run multiple nodes in different ways on the same hardware. There are different ways to go about it, of course. A lot of this is personal preference on your end.

4 Likes

Thank you.
I’m planning to run a single node as i read that running multiple nodes under same ipv4 is not a good idea.
Maybe i will try to run it on ubuntu vm and add later others projects but as i know expanding vm storage when others drives be added is not easy

Br.

Hello @Dali44 ,
Welcome to the forum!

I would recommend to start a one node with one disk. You can start the second and next nodes (each with own unique signed identity and own disk) when the previous one almost full or at least vetted.
You read it right - running multiple nodes will not give you more data, it will be distributes across your nodes, but in total it would be treated as a one big node. So, you will have a RAID on network level. If one node die - you will lost only this piece of common data.