General questions about STORJ

Good afternoon.

I’m new to the whole storj ecosystem, and I’ve been reading a lot of posts for a few days now, and people are talking about adding nodes and more nodes and more nodes… And infinite hard drives.

If you live in a house where your bandwidth is 600/600 and you incorporate many nodes and many hard drives, it is understood that you are going to collapse the bandwidth, right? Therefore the benefit will not increase.

Can someone explain to me the euphoria of incorporating excessive nodes? It is clear that the end result is that people want to become millionaires.

I don’t know, I don’t get it. See if anyone can make an explanation.

Thank you.

1 Like

No chance of millionaires.

Maybe 5 dollars for your first month.

1 Like

I don’t say it for me, I say it because people see it derailed by the creation of new nodes. What do they have, 10 email accounts?

You only need one email account now, and even before, many providers (including Gmail) treat + as a mailbox separator so you could use example+storj1@gmail.com and example+storj2@gmail.com etc., which all go to the same Gmail account.

But my question is whether there is a real benefit to having, say, five nodes on the same computer.

Speaking for myself only I use the same email account but use the + syntax so that it will appear different. It is allowed I believe.

I have many nodes because I was told you should use 1 node per hdd.

I’ve found that it is quite interesting, but not hugely profitable yet.

Yes. If you have five spare hard drives, running a node per disk is advised. If the disks are of different sizes, RAID isn’t feasible. If the disks are the same size, you could RAID them and run one node but:

• If you use a level with redundancy, you are wasting disk space to provide redundancy that the Tardigrade network already provides. This just reduces your income potential by needlessly dedicating at least one disk to redundancy.