Satellites near Australia?

Hi all,

I’ve been a node operator since early alpha, but my original machine broke and I never got around to rebuilding. Now that I have a proper UnRAID server for other purposes, and 44TB worth of drives (not all for storj, i’m afraid) I thought I better get back into it and earn me some storj.

I love the updated dashboard, so much better! But I noticed that there are satellites for Europe & America, but none for Australia (where I am), or even Asia. So my question is, will my distance from the nodes affect my earnings? I know it’s about uptime, but if I’m not responding as fast as those in the countries where the satellite is, I have a feeling it’s going to hurt me. If that’s the case, will there be a satellite for Asia-Pacific (or preferably in Sydney) in the future?

Welcome back after such a long time.

This blog post would help you understand working of Storj. After reading it if you still have doubts then do update this thread.

But there is asia-east-1.tardigrade.io:7777 already: https://tardigrade.io/trusted-satellites

It does not matter where the satellite is, the most important where are the customers who entrust you with data for storage, if they are in Australia, you will be able to handle them quickly and you will win

1 Like

Good grief, I swear it wasn’t there earlier when I checked, but sure enough you are correct. Sorry!

Ah that makes sense. I thought the satellite had to decide which node to retrieve/store data to/from. Well i’m glad I was wrong, thanks for the reply!

Now you have two tasks:

1. take care of your node
  2. inform potential customers that they can win by using Tardigrade data storage

Off topic question but I figured that I’d ask because you’re the first Australian I see on the forum.
How did you manage to get an internet connection that works for storj ?
I lived in Australia a couple of years ago and all unmetered connections were heaps expensive.